Navy Eyeliner

Navy Eyeliner.

Image

Image

One of my favourite summer looks is navy eyeliner with a neutral toned eyeshadow and barely there mascara. I love navy in the summertime! It might not be the look of ‘the moment’ but I find it really classic, cool and chic.

My current favourites are Guerlain Liquid Eyeliner in 02 Bleu and Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner in Navy Blue.

The Guerlain is a lovely deep and classic navy. The bottle is a beauty to behold, and reminds me of some kind of Persian treasure, with its long slim gold lid over a reassuringly heavy matte glass pot. The bush is firm enough to give a nice clean line without too much expertise needed from the person wielding it. The eyeliner itself is opaque and applies perfectly with one swipe – no need to go back and fill in the weird sheer places you get with some other liquid eyeliners. I mainly wear this with MAC Paint Pot in Camel Coat during the day, just to the end of my eyelid, and maybe at night with a tiny feline flick at the ends.

The SmashBox Jet Set Waterproof Eye Liner is a much more modern take on the idea of navy – or is it a call back to the eighties? Either way, I absolutely love it. To be completely honest with you, for a long time I didn’t wear it as an eyeliner at all, but rather as a cream eyeshadow to funk up an outfit when I was going out. And it works perfectly like that too! I apply this with my Real Techniques eyeliner brush, and the thing I really love about this product is that it’s really build-able. I can have quite a sheer electric blue look going on along my lash line, or build it to be that dark navy look. Either way, it’s very nice. The colour itself is a little more iridescent than the Guerlain, far lighter in colour and closer to royal blue than true navy. I live in fear of the day it starts to dry out, as I have no idea how to re-moisten these things!

Next on my navy list is the Clinique Quickliner Intense in Midnight.

Have you tried navy eyeliner? What ones do you love?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

